Leave a comment

If You Like to Tax Your Mind

I know, it’s so much easier not to.

So much easier to pick up your favorite piece of fluff, or punch it up on laptop or big screen. And I admit I do a fair amount of that. I’m no Einstein after all.

There is a website you might like.

I sure do, because it causes me to think about things well outside my life. It causes me to wish that I was able to understand a lot of this stuff better. And, frankly, it makes me feel like I might be traveling in an upper spiral of human thought, at least now and then.

The site is simply called: EDGE.

It describes itself thusly:

To arrive at the edge of the world’s knowledge, seek out the most complex and sophisticated minds, put them in a room together, and have them ask each other the questions they are asking themselves.

Each year apparently, they ask a question of thinkers around the globe. And they post the answers. This year’s question is:

What is your favorite, deep elegant or beautiful explanation?

As you may know, scientific explanations are sometimes called “elegant”. That seems to describe answers that are simple in the last analysis, and perfect in symmetry. Many theoretical physicists say that when the Unified Theory is uncovered, it will be “elegant” in nature. I read a book some years ago entitled “The Elegant Universe”, suggesting much the same.

There are to date something like 192 responses to the question. You can go and read any or all of them.

I found it great fun. But then I’m weird.

Leave a Reply

